DIY Audio Projects Forum
 NEW  Matt presents bias and operation data for the 6V6 tube in SE operation - 6V6 Single-Ended (SE) Ultra Linear (UL) Bias Optimization.

DIY Audio Projects Forum

Welcome to the DIY Audio Projects Message Forum. Use these forums to discuss Hi-Fi audio and to share your DIY Audio Projects. Registration is free and required to post messages and view the file attachments. Registration will only take a minute and registered users do not see any advertisements. After you have completed the online registration process, check your email (including spam/junk folder) for the verification email to activate your account. New members are under moderation - so your posts will not be visible until approved by a moderator. See the Read Me 1st, Forum RULES and Forum FAQ to get started on the forum.

It is currently 22 Feb 2018, 17:15

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: 05 Aug 2008, 11:11 

Hi!
I am a newbie regarding amplifiers. I have built a the recommended back loaded horn for my Fostex FE206E drivers.
Which of the DIY Tube amplifiers should I choose for the enclosure?
Making circuit boards and soldering are no problems, choosing a good amplifier is hard.
Best regards
/nisse

PostPosted: 05 Aug 2008, 11:53 
Editor

Hi nisse and welcome to the forum.

I would love to see a photo of your speakers. Feel free to post them.

You don't need much power for those speakers, so you should be able to get away with a low wattage single ended design. For small Xmax speakers, my preference is to use a tube amp with a low damping factor.

What is you budget for an amp?

PostPosted: 06 Aug 2008, 02:59 

Hi!
I can post some pictures, but I have them at home so it will take awhile (~10h) before I can post them.
The horns are slightly modified fostex recommended BL horn made of 22mm MDF. The cables are the cheapest I could find and the amplifiers I use are old 70's from a garage sale. All this is hooked up to my computer.
Not the audiophiles dream :)