DIY Audio Projects Forum
http://diyaudioprojects.com/Forum/

Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?
http://diyaudioprojects.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6124
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Danny [ 06 Jan 2018, 16:02 ]
Post subject:  Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

Hi.
I will start building the Oddwatt amps and I am trying to figure out the best way to house the various components (caps, resistors, diodes, etc.).
In the past I have done point to point using terminal strips.
However this time I would like to place the components on a board to get a cleaner project.
I purchased an epoxy glass reinforced prototyping breadboard and a turret board.
The breadboard lends itself easier because it is predrilled with many holes.

Question: is it OK to use the breadboard and solder the components on one side of the board?
I tried with one resistor and it holds it firmly. But where I soldered it leaves a film (is it the rosin flux and/or part of the board?) and I wonder if this compromises the soldered connection.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Danny

Author:  gofar99 [ 06 Jan 2018, 16:09 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

Hi, I believe you are referring to a printed circuit board PCB or a prototyping board, not a breadboard. A breadboard is used to try various connections and is composed of lots of rows of holes that use push pin connectors. it is not for permanent connections. PCBs come in many varieties....undrilled, plated one side only, plated holes and so on. I use them all the time for builds. I prefer the fiberglass reinforced ones, but the phenolic ones are OK if you don't stress them physically. I also like to solder both sides of the boards when possible. Like with resistor leads.

Good listening
Bruce

Author:  Soundbrigade [ 06 Jan 2018, 16:32 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

I am using boards that look like this.
http://www.pastisch.se/tubes/images/2SK1058_06.jpg
http://www.pastisch.se/tubes/images/2SK1058_07.jpg

(Big pics, so I give the links). Through-plated holes makes it easy to use both sides, and I wire them up as I like. They are small, 5x7 cm, but I can use several in a project.

Author:  Danny [ 06 Jan 2018, 17:21 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

Sorry. You are right. It is a simple perforated prototyping board (with no plated holes). See link. Thus, from your responses I guess I should not be using it and get one with plated holes.

https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/58 ... 9-7100-410

Thanks,

Author:  Soundbrigade [ 06 Jan 2018, 22:02 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

No reason not to use it. If you've got it - use it!

Author:  Geek [ 07 Jan 2018, 01:21 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

I use that stuff for quick mods and upgrades when it's not practical (like a one-off) to etch a PCB on the weekend.

Just watch for carbon tracing with FR4, as it can become conductive and you have to dremel it out. FR2 (phenolic) is immune to that, but is MUCH more fragile to work with.

Cheers!

Author:  M. Gregg [ 07 Jan 2018, 12:37 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

Fiberglass board is OK,

Just be aware that hot components will need lifting away from the board.
It is useful for bias pots etc. Just be aware of voltages used on the board.
I still prefer point to point turret board:
because you are restricted to copper tracks on PCB.
Also you have the board insulation (Type) and modifications can be messy.
But many old amps used PCB's eg the Mozart.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=Pye+m ... dsQOeuTAWM:

Regards
M. Gregg

Author:  M. Gregg [ 07 Jan 2018, 12:58 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

One point about Fiberglass Vero board,

I wouldn't use Phenolic Vero board Its way to flimsy.

The distance between tracks is not big enough for high voltage equipment.
However you can use it as long as you cut the tracks so no tracks with a high difference in potential are side by side.

NB clean off flux with IPA 170 and spray track side with Lacquer.
Then you don't get dust causing track flashover.

I use a small paint brush for the IPA to remove flux, you don't want to spray components.

Regards
M. Gregg

Author:  KochiyaYamato [ 05 Feb 2018, 04:40 ]
Post subject:  Re: Using a breadboard to house the components. Is it OK?

Soundbrigade wrote:
I am using boards that look like this.
http://www.pastisch.se/tubes/images/2SK1058_06.jpg
http://www.pastisch.se/tubes/images/2SK1058_07.jpg

(Big pics, so I give the links). Through-plated holes makes it easy to use both sides, and I wire them up as I like. They are small, 5x7 cm, but I can use several in a project.

I've used pcb boards just like in picture and found no plorbem, I had ran 250V on my valve project.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10pcs-D ... 0.0.s10xn4
This was the store I got my boards from.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/