DIY Audio Projects Forum
 NEW  Matt presents bias and operation data for the 6V6 tube in SE operation - 6V6 Single-Ended (SE) Ultra Linear (UL) Bias Optimization.

DIY Audio Projects Forum

Welcome to the DIY Audio Projects Message Forum. Use these forums to discuss Hi-Fi audio and to share your DIY Audio Projects. Registration is free and required to post messages and view the file attachments. Registration will only take a minute and registered users do not see any advertisements. After you have completed the online registration process, check your email (including spam/junk folder) for the verification email to activate your account. New members are under moderation - so your posts will not be visible until approved by a moderator. See the Read Me 1st, Forum RULES and Forum FAQ to get started on the forum.

It is currently 21 Aug 2018, 07:04

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: 08 May 2017, 18:28 

Hi all. Hope that you can clear this for me.

I am rather new to tube projects and most likely this is normal. I have read somewhere of startup voltage surge in the power supply. I use solid state diodes.
I built an integrated stereo amp and recently a phono preamp. Both using vacuum tubes of course. They work well.

However, recently I realized that when turning on the phono preamp the B+ voltage goes up to ~345 V and then slowly stabilizes at 270 V (no load), which is what I designed it for. I have not done the same measurement for the amp. But, noticed that the speaker drivers move significantly when I power-up the amp. I assume that this is due to the same startup surge action.
The caps and resistors have specs that go beyond the nominal voltages. Thus, I am not too concerned. Or should I? Is this something that should be corrected?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks,

Danny

PostPosted: 08 May 2017, 21:09 
Project Author