DIY Audio Projects Forum
http://diyaudioprojects.com/Forum/

Silly Desktop PSU Q's
http://diyaudioprojects.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=401
Page 1 of 1

Author:  kristfin [ 21 Jan 2009, 07:44 ]
Post subject:  Silly Desktop PSU Q's

before i continue my next audio project, i'm planning to create a proper desktop psu. nothing fancy, just use a computer psu, put it in a box, have a banana for each voltage and add one output through a POT so i can control it 0-20v. i found some good information here: http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Comput ... wer-Supply
here is a simple diagram of the front as i see it:
Image

the idea is to connect the currrent i want to the input, so i can see the amps and volts available for the output.
and the silly question is, how do i connect the input -> amp+volt -> output?

Author:  Gio [ 21 Jan 2009, 08:14 ]
Post subject:  DIY Lab / Desktop Power Supply from Computer PSU

Good instruction set.

I'm guessing you run the jumpers to the inputs of the meters and hook up the load to the output plugs. I did not see that faceplace with the meters on the site.

Author:  kristfin [ 21 Jan 2009, 08:39 ]
Post subject:  Re: Silly Desktop PSU Q's

the meters are volt 0-30 and amps 0-10

the question was, how i connect the input through the meters to the output. i saw some diagram on wikipedia where a resistor was looped around the amp meter.

anyway, shouldn't this do the trick?

Author:  CrazzyAbtTubes [ 21 Jan 2009, 16:08 ]
Post subject:  Re: Silly Desktop PSU Q's

The Ammeter would go in series with the output and the voltmeter would go in parallel so yes you have the right idea

Author:  Gio [ 22 Jan 2009, 00:13 ]
Post subject:  Re: Silly Desktop PSU Q's

That looks good. But the Ammeter should be + on both sides.

Author:  kristfin [ 27 Jan 2009, 18:45 ]
Post subject:  Re: Silly Desktop PSU Q's

the PSU is ready. so at least it is not the power that is slowing me down

Image

the ammeter doesn't show much life though, but i was just testing it

Author:  CrazzyAbtTubes [ 27 Jan 2009, 18:52 ]
Post subject:  Re: Silly Desktop PSU Q's

How much current oes your ammeter show, and what is the current of the load, if it is just that light buld there will only be about 60mA drawn.

Nice construction job :up:

Author:  kristfin [ 28 Jan 2009, 03:57 ]
Post subject:  Re: Silly Desktop PSU Q's

thanks.

the ammeter moves. i have no reson to assume it doesn't work.

i'll try to put a 5 or 10 ohm resistance on the 12v, which should give me 12/5 or 12/10 amps.

Author:  RiGuy [ 29 Jan 2009, 20:28 ]
Post subject:  Re: Silly Desktop PSU Q's

This is really cool. Nice job man!
Ri

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/