DIY Audio Projects Forum
 NEW  Matt presents bias and operation data for the 6V6 tube in SE operation - 6V6 Single-Ended (SE) Ultra Linear (UL) Bias Optimization.

DIY Audio Projects Forum

Welcome to the DIY Audio Projects Message Forum. Use these forums to discuss Hi-Fi audio and to share your DIY Audio Projects. Registration is free and required to post messages and view the file attachments. Registration will only take a minute and registered users do not see any advertisements. After you have completed the online registration process, check your email (including spam/junk folder) for the verification email to activate your account. New members are under moderation - so your posts will not be visible until approved by a moderator. See the Read Me 1st, Forum RULES and Forum FAQ to get started on the forum.

It is currently 05 Apr 2020, 19:24

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2015, 08:37 

Hi everybody,
I'm quite new to the world of electronics and I'd like to build a simple audio circuit which would also suit my needs in live applications, especially when input channels on mixers are limited.
What I want to do is a balanced XLR stereo to mono summing box, which I can use, for example, for keyboards.
In addition, I'd like to add a phase switch on one of the two inputs (DPDT switch?) and a PAD on just one input aswell.
This way I could use it as a snare top/bottom combiner (using two mics), with the pad used to tame the bottom snare.
I'll start off saying I have quite few understandings of the huge world of electronics, after searching the web I have a rough idea of how to start but i still have some doubts.
I think it would be good to start with this circuit http://www.rane.com/n109fig3.gif
placing the phase switch just before the points where the two sources join.
Regarding the pad switch, should I integrate a H PAD?
I found a calculator http://www.nu9n.com/tpad-calculator.html